Iowa Biodiesel Board elects leaders at regional annual meeting

By The Iowa Biodiesel Board | September 14, 2018

An Iowa biodiesel producer will serve a third term as chair of the Iowa Biodiesel Board. The directors elected officers during the Iowa Biodiesel Board and National Biodiesel Board Regional Annual Meeting, which took place Sept. 12-13 in Des Moines.

Tom Brooks, general manager of biodiesel producer Western Dubuque Biodiesel in Farley, Iowa, was reelected to lead the organization for the next year.

“I’m honored to have the continued faith and trust of the Iowa Biodiesel Board directors,” Brooks said. “This is a unique trade association in that we represent the entire value chain, from farmers to biodiesel producers to marketers. We face continued challenges for our industry, but we also have a leadership opportunity in Iowa and nationally, with the skills and passion of those serving on the board.” 

Doug Lenhart, vice president of procurement and logistics at Iowa-headquartered Renewable Energy Group was elected secretary. He replaces Dawn Carlson of the Petroleum Marketers and Convenience Stores of Iowa. She remains on the board as a director.

The full slate of officers for the organization is: 

-Chair: Tom Brooks, Western Dubuque Biodiesel (reelected)

-Vice Chair: Brad Wilson, Western Iowa Energy (reelected)

-Treasurer: Reed Herzig, Monsanto (newly elected)

-Secretary: Doug Lenhart, REG

The board elected Dave Walton, a soybean farmer from Wilton, Iowa, to the board. He also serves as secretary of the Iowa Soybean Association, and raises cattle and sheep. Walton replaces Ron Heck as the ISA representative. The board thanked Heck for his years of dedicated service.

Biodiesel is made from a diverse mix of resources. These include recycled cooking oil, soybean oil and animal fats.

The Iowa Biodiesel Board is a state trade association representing the biodiesel industry. 

Array ( [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [HTTP_USER_AGENT] => CCBot/2.0 ( [HTTP_ACCEPT] => text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8 [HTTP_ACCEPT_LANGUAGE] => en-US,en;q=0.5 [HTTP_IF_MODIFIED_SINCE] => Fri, 19 Jul 2019 19:24:10 GMT [HTTP_HOST] => [HTTP_CONNECTION] => Keep-Alive [HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING] => gzip [PATH] => /sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin [SERVER_SIGNATURE] =>
Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) Server at Port 80
[SERVER_SOFTWARE] => Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) [SERVER_NAME] => [SERVER_ADDR] => [SERVER_PORT] => 80 [REMOTE_ADDR] => [DOCUMENT_ROOT] => /datadrive/websites/ [SERVER_ADMIN] => [SCRIPT_FILENAME] => /datadrive/websites/ [REMOTE_PORT] => 48082 [REDIRECT_QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/2516459/iowa-biodiesel-board-elects-leaders-at-regional-annual-meeting [REDIRECT_URL] => /app/webroot/articles/2516459/iowa-biodiesel-board-elects-leaders-at-regional-annual-meeting [GATEWAY_INTERFACE] => CGI/1.1 [SERVER_PROTOCOL] => HTTP/1.1 [REQUEST_METHOD] => GET [QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/2516459/iowa-biodiesel-board-elects-leaders-at-regional-annual-meeting [REQUEST_URI] => /articles/2516459/iowa-biodiesel-board-elects-leaders-at-regional-annual-meeting [SCRIPT_NAME] => /app/webroot/index.php [PHP_SELF] => /app/webroot/index.php [REQUEST_TIME_FLOAT] => 1571034423.721 [REQUEST_TIME] => 1571034423 )