Iowa Biodiesel Board congratulates state's congressional winners

By The Iowa Biodiesel Board | November 05, 2014

The Iowa Biodiesel Board offered its congratulations to last night’s election winners, and remains optimistic for the future of biodiesel policies in Washington. Grant Kimberley, IBB executive director, issued the following statement:

“We congratulate Iowa’s election winners, and look forward to working with all of them in the effort to diversify our nation’s fuel supply with biodiesel, America’s advanced biofuel. We are confident the new Senate and House winners will support biodiesel and biofuel issues. Having hosted Sen. Joni Ernst at a biodiesel plant during the campaign, we were pleased to hear her declare strong support for biodiesel and the renewable fuel standard (RFS) to IBB members. IBB will continue to be a resource for her and all of our elected officials.

“Sen. Ernst and Rep. David Young in particular have strong ties to Gov. Terry Branstad and Sen. Chuck Grassley, who have been tireless champions for biofuel and agriculture issues. We’re confident these newly elected officials will be just as supportive in providing leadership on these important issues. We also look forward to working with Rep. Rod Blum. Likewise, we believe the House incumbents, Reps. Dave Loebsack and Steve King, will continue to support biodiesel and our nation’s drive for smart, consistent federal energy policy. The economic and energy security benefits biodiesel provides are second to none, making the RFS one of the most effective policies we have.”

Ernst, a Republican, defeated Democrat Bruce Braley for the U.S. Senate. Republicans Rod Blum and David Young also won the two open U.S. House seats, including the 1st District that had been held by Braley.

The biodiesel industry awaits final RFS volumes for 2014 from Washington, D.C. The last known proposal would set biodiesel volumes at 1.28 billion gallons. That’s a sharp cut from last year’s production of nearly 1.8 billion gallons.

The Iowa Biodiesel Board is a nonpartisan state trade association representing the biodiesel industry. 


Array ( [REDIRECT_REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [REDIRECT_STATUS] => 200 [HTTP_USER_AGENT] => CCBot/2.0 ( [HTTP_ACCEPT] => text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,*/*;q=0.8 [HTTP_IF_MODIFIED_SINCE] => Sun, 23 Sep 2018 23:56:43 UTC [HTTP_HOST] => [HTTP_CONNECTION] => Keep-Alive [HTTP_ACCEPT_ENCODING] => gzip [PATH] => /sbin:/usr/sbin:/bin:/usr/bin [SERVER_SIGNATURE] =>
Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) Server at Port 80
[SERVER_SOFTWARE] => Apache/2.2.15 (CentOS) [SERVER_NAME] => [SERVER_ADDR] => [SERVER_PORT] => 80 [REMOTE_ADDR] => [DOCUMENT_ROOT] => /datadrive/websites/ [SERVER_ADMIN] => [SCRIPT_FILENAME] => /datadrive/websites/ [REMOTE_PORT] => 41896 [REDIRECT_QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/231155/iowa-biodiesel-board-congratulates-states-congressional-winners [REDIRECT_URL] => /app/webroot/articles/231155/iowa-biodiesel-board-congratulates-states-congressional-winners [GATEWAY_INTERFACE] => CGI/1.1 [SERVER_PROTOCOL] => HTTP/1.1 [REQUEST_METHOD] => GET [QUERY_STRING] => url=articles/231155/iowa-biodiesel-board-congratulates-states-congressional-winners [REQUEST_URI] => /articles/231155/iowa-biodiesel-board-congratulates-states-congressional-winners [SCRIPT_NAME] => /app/webroot/index.php [PHP_SELF] => /app/webroot/index.php [REQUEST_TIME_FLOAT] => 1545153745.296 [REQUEST_TIME] => 1545153745 )